Board of Advisors

Karen Lee

Founder of Economics Student Society of Australia in 2011

Karen is an economics enthusiast and as a result of her passion for the subject, founded the Economics Society of Australia in 2011 with a group of close friends. Her interest in economics lies with how applicable the concepts learnt in class can be readily applied to real life situations. In particular, she enjoys industrial, behavioral and experimental economics . Karen recently completed her Bachelor of Commerce at the University of Melbourne in 2012, with a major in Economics and Finance. She is currently studying her Master of Management (Accounting) at the Graduate School of Business and Economics to compliment her undergraduate degree. She has confidence that ESSA will continue to thrive at the University of Melbourne and hopes ESSA will one day become a national icon disbanding the common misconceptions about economics.

Nilss Olekalns

Deputy Dean of Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Melbourne

Professor Nilss Olekalns is currently the Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne. He began teaching in the Department of Economics at the University of Melbourne in 1994 where, for the last thirteen years, he has lectured to first year students in Macroeconomics. He has been a visiting scholar at the International Monetary Fund, a guest lecturer at the Monetary Authority of Singapore and an invited lecturer for the Australian and New Zealand School of Government. Professor Olekalns has published on a variety of macroeconomic topics including fiscal and monetary policies, exchange rates, output and inflation volatility, and interest rates. He received his B.Ec. with Honours in economics from the University.

Russell Smyth

Head of Department, Department of Economics, Monash University

Russell Smyth is of Head of Department of Economics at Monash University. His research interests encompass Asian economies, Chinese economic reform, empirical legal studies, law and economics, migration and applied time series econometrics. From 1998 to 2008 he was Editor of Economic Papers, the policy journal of the Economic Society of Australia and was a member of the Central Council of the Economic Society of Australia. In 2008 he received the Honorary Fellow Award of the Economic Society of Australia He is currently an Associate Editor of the B.E. Press journal, Asia Pacific Law and Economics Review and Pacific Economic Reviewand sits on the Editorial Board of a further four journals.

Neville Norman

Vice President of Economics Society of Australia and Honours Co-Ordinator (Economics), University of Melbourne

Neville Norman is an Associate Professor and Honours Economics Co-ordinator at The University of Melbourne, Official Visiting Scholar in Economics at Cambridge England and the 2010 Honorary Fellow of the Economic Society of Australia. He has a PhD from Cambridge, and Honours and Masters degrees from Melbourne. Neville specialises in the trade-policy industrial economics intersection, with a focus on theory, econometrics, data generation and policy analysis, with publications, public addresses and evidence in these areas in many countries.

Preeta Phillip

ESSA Mentor and Department Manager, Department of Economics, University of Melbourne

Preeta Philip is Department Manager, Department of Economics, University of Melbourne. She has over 22 years of experience working in corporate finance in India and Australia. For the past 10 years she has held various roles at the University of Melbourne. Ms Philip holds a Bachelor of Business Administration from Spicer Memorial College, India and a Master of Business Administration from Andrews University, USA

Founding sponsors





Gold sponsor

Silver sponsors